Chiselled and gilded bronze and marble clock.... - Lot 265 - Artenchères

Lot 265
Got to lot
Estimation :
8000 - 12000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 19 840EUR
Chiselled and gilded bronze and marble clock.... - Lot 265 - Artenchères
Chiselled and gilded bronze and marble clock.
The enamelled dial signed Revel à Paris, three hands, hour indication in Roman numerals, quarter of an hour, as well as a numbering from 1 to 30 in red numerals indicating the days of the month of the revolutionary calendar.
It is set in a round beaded bezel held by a ribbon from which a large plumet emerges. It is supported by two leaning sphinxes bearing on their nemesis two enamelled mounds in night blue, green and gold and two Medici topiary vases in marble painted with garlands of flowers. Terrace in morello cherry marble. Base with rounded sides in marble painted with garlands of flowers, adorned with a glass frame with a very subtle gilded decoration of rhombuses, quartets, friezes and rhinestones on a red background, in the centre a biscuit medallion with a bacchanal motif. Bronze base carved with friezes, four spinning top legs.

Late 18th century, revolutionary period.
In addition to its superb quality of workmanship, this clock is rare because of its calendar system dating from the revolutionary era: set up from 1793 to 1806, it cut the year into 12 months of 30 days each.
All these elements give it a museum quality.

Provenance: private collection from Lyon, by descent.

Sold without reserve price.

Ref: We can bring our pendulum closer to a few rare models with medallion variants:
-A clock of a very similar model, old Karl Lagerfeld collection (Christie's sale in Monaco, 28 and 29 April 2000, lot 249) ? simple dial;
- Pierre Kjellberg, Encyclopédie de la Hordule française, Paris, 1997, p. 281, fig. E. (Doc° Ader Picard Tajan) with the same dial
- Another copy, signed F.L. Godoy, also decorated with a painted medallion, is kept in the Spanish royal collections (in J.R. Colon de Carvajal, Collections du Patrimoine National Espagnol, Madrid, 1987, p.77, n°61).
-A last sale Sotheby's Paris 09 November 2012 with a different medallion was
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Pendule en bronze ciselé et doré et marbre....

Lot 265
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 12000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 19 840EUR

Pendule en bronze ciselé et doré et marbre....

Pendule en bronze ciselé et doré et marbre.
Le cadran émaillé signé Revel à Paris, trois aiguilles, indication des heures en chiffres romains, des quart d’heure, ainsi qu’une numérotation de 1 à 30 en chiffres rouges indiquant les jours du mois du calendrier révolutionnaire.
Il est enchâssé dans une lunette ronde perlée retenue par un ruban d’où émerge un large plumet. Il est supporté par deux sphinges adossées portant sur leurs nemès deux tertres émaillés bleu nuit, vert et doré et deux vases Médicis à topiaires en marbre peint de guirlandes de fleurs. Terrasse en marbre griotte. Base aux côtés arrondis en marbre peint de guirlandes de fleurs, ornée d’un cadre en verre églomisé à très subtil décor doré de losanges, quartefeuilles, frises et strass sur fond rouge, au centre un médaillon en biscuit à motif d’une bacchanale. Socle en bronze ciselé de frises, quatre pieds toupie.

Fin du XVIIIème siècle, époque révolutionnaire.
En plus de sa superbe qualité d’exécution, cette pendule est rare par son système à quantièmes datant de l’époque révolutionnaire : mis en place de 1793 à 1806, il découpait l’année en 12 mois de 30 jours chacun.
Tous ces éléments lui confèrent une qualité muséale.

Provenance : collection particulière lyonnaise, par descendance.

Vendu sans prix de réserve.

Réf : Nous pouvons rapprocher notre pendule de quelques rares modèles avec des variantes de médaillons :
-Une pendule d'un modèle très proche, ancienne collection Karl Lagerfeld (vente Christie's à Monaco, les 28 et 29 avril 2000, lot 249) ? cadran simple ;
- Pierre Kjellberg, Encyclopédie de la Pendule française, Paris, 1997, p. 281, fig. E. (Doc° Ader Picard Tajan) avec même cadran
-Un autre exemplaire, signé F.L. Godoy, également orné d'un médaillon peint, est conservé dans les collections royales espagnoles (in J.R. Colon de Carvajal, Collections du Patrimoine National Espagnol, Madrid, 1987, p.77, n°61).
-Une derni
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue